Wisdom in My Stead

The Roanoke Cop brings you Paul Harvey’s Policeman

The Things Worth Believing In brings you The Magpul Website. Much wisdom at the top of that page.

Humor and Satire from Radioactive Liberty

And since it’s Sunday, a prayer from my Policeman’s Bible provided by Dan Lovin:

Our Father who art in Heaven

In a few minutes I will assume my daily beat. Facing the unknown, but being closer to Thee than ever before

Hallowed be Thy name

Even in the face of death and crime, Thou art everywhere to guide me. I will fear no evil. Thy rod and Thy staff comfort me.

Thy will be done

Thy will, not mine shall be done. Do not let me be selfish. O Lord, if you choose to take me, let me die as a man in order that another may live.

On Earth as it is in Heaven

Let me be a guide here on Earth to those who are misguided and lost. Help me to hlep those who are in need of help in order that we all may be worthy of Thy kingdom in Heaven.

Give us this day our daily bread

Especially those who live in poverty and misery

And forgive us our trespasses

I am a sinner. O Lord, let me never forget that I am no better than my fellow men. Let me never forget that by Thy grace I am on the right side of the law.

As we forgive those who trespass against us

Forgive those that despise me and the uniform which represents law and order. Forgive them for they do not know better. I have forgiven them.

Lead us not into temptation

Make me strong for I am only human. Deliver me from hate and jealousy and from wanting something I should not have in in your eyes.

For thine is the kingdom and power and the glory

Let me be no judge or jury. Let me be impartial. Let me be just and fair.

Forever and ever, Amen

4 Responses to “Wisdom in My Stead”

  1. Nice to see one of todays LEO’s read something like this before duty shift.
    I used to read one very similar(back in th 1980’s) but sadly way too many in blue seem to have forgotten(or ignore) the oath to protect and serve. All those I worked with back then knew we put OUR lives on the line to protect others! Today when I here some talk the loudes part out of their mouth is “I’M” going home tonight.
    Times and ethics change I guess

  2. I’m always looking out for #1 first. Don’t EVER doubt that. If I don’t make it, I can’t protect or serve anyone.

  3. nutzoid Says:

    Looking out for youself is a given, What I refer to is…..well like the shooting incident in the news recently (in Pa I believe) where the police would not enter the building for an HOUR because they didnt know if it was SAFE????
    Why do they have their jobs still???????????

  4. […] Wisdom in My Stead « Humor and Satire at You Should Be Tasered […]

Comments are closed.

